Experiences of a med student with an incurable travel bug.

Danger: Not-So-Sharp Objects

We have an awful lot of required groups this block; luckily I have the best prof for my small group leader. Yeah, sure, he’s been teaching and practicing for 30 years. I suppose he’s also pretty renowned in his field. But what makes him the best is that he brings bagels! That’s right, he supplies bagels for all 35 of us every time we meet. At first I assumed this was bribery to get us to attend, but someone let it slip that that we’re actually required to be there, so that can’t be it. (I suspect he already knew this considering he oversees the chaotic electronic-clicker-check-in-fiasco each day, but hey, maybe he thinks that battling technology is just a fun way to spend 20 minutes.) Maybe he’s just a genuinely nice, generous person.

Or maybe he knows that being locked in a room with 35 cranky med students for three hours would be torture and he brings the bagels as a peace offering. If that’s the case, it’s working.

Unfortunately, the bagels do not come sliced, so our prof entrusts us with plastic knives to slice the bagels. We’re all future doctors, this should be no problem, right?

…wrong. I was just so excited for my blueberry bagel this morning that I got a little overzealous with the slicing and sawed straight through the bagel into my hand — with a plastic knife.

Future doctor, people. I’m going to be wielding a scalpel one day. Don’t worry, though — I’ll leave the bagels out of the OR.

To my classmates: I pretended that nothing happened, but if the prof did notice and we’re stuck with spreading cream cheese with our fingers next week, I apologize.

Leave a Reply

